Scientific Exploration Society (SES) is a UK-based charity (No 267410) that was founded in 1969 by Colonel John Blashford-Snell CBE. It is the longest running scientific exploration organisation in the world.

Each year, through its Explorer Awards programme, SES awards SIX grants to ‘Pioneers with Purpose' and 'Scientific Trailblazers' leading expeditions that align with its aims and objectives of discovery, research and conservation in remote parts of the world offering knowledge, education and community aid. Members and friends enjoy regular Explorer Talks from inspirational speakers and are also given opportunities to go on exciting scientific expeditions.

SES has an excellent Honorary Advisory Board, which includes Sir Ranulph Fiennes, Rosie Stancer, Pen Hadow, Ben Fogle, Bear Grylls, Mark Beaumont, Tim Peake and Levison Wood. Without its support, and that of its generous benefactors, members, trustees, part-time staff and volunteers, SES would struggle to do all that it does.